Massachusetts Non-Acute Hospital Profiles

HFY 2021 Non-Acute Care Hospital Profiles
Publication Materials

Non-acute hospitals are defined using the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (DPH) and Department of Mental Health (DMH) license criteria. When presenting trends for utilization, costs, and financial performance, baseline data is provided for each hospital’s cohort as a point of comparison.

Non-acute hospitals fall under these categories:

  • Chronic Care Hospitals
    Chronic care hospitals are hospitals with an average length of patient stay greater than 25 days. These hospitals typically provide longer-term care, such as ventilator dependent care. Medicare classifies chronic care hospitals as Long-Term Acute Care Hospitals, using the same 25-day threshold.

  • Behavioral Health Hospitals
    Behavioral health hospitals are licensed by DMH for psychiatric services and by DPH for substance abuse services. Behavioral hospitals offer mental health services, substance abuse disorder treatments, and both inpatient and outpatient services.

  • Rehabilitation Hospitals
    Rehabilitation hospitals provide intensive post-acute rehabilitation services, such as physical, occupational, and speech therapy services. For Medicare payment purposes, the federal government classifies hospitals as rehabilitation hospitals if they provide more than 60% of their inpatient services to patients with one or more of 13 diagnoses listed in federal regulations.

  • Specialty Care Hospitals
    Non-acute specialty care hospitals provide long-term and unique patient care services.

  • Massachusetts Department of Mental Health (DMH) Hospitals
    The Department of Mental Health (DMH) operates five hospitals that provide psychiatric and mental health care for those with otherwise limited access to facilities providing such care.

  • Massachusetts Department of Public Health (DPH) Hospital
    The Department of Public Health (DPH) operates four multi-specialty hospitals that provide acute and chronic care to those for whom community facilities are not available or access to health care is restricted.

Chronic Care Hospitals
HFY 21 Chronic Care CohortHFY 21HFY 20

HFY 19


  • Curahealth Stoughton

  • New England Sinai Hospital

  • Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital Cambridge

  • Vibra Hospital of Western Massachusetts



Behavioral Health Hospitals
HFY 21 Behavioral Health CohortHFY 21HFY 20

HFY 19


  • Arbour Hospital
  • Arbour-Fuller Hospital

  • Arbour-HRI Hospital

  • Bournewood Hospital

  • Haverhill Pavilion Behavioral Health Hospital

  • Hospital for Behavioral Medicine



  • McLean Hospital

  • Southcoast Behavioral Hospital

  • Taravista Behavioral Health

  • Walden Behavioral Care

  • Westborough Behavioral HealthCare Hospital

  • Westwood Lodge Pembroke



Rehabilitation Care Hospitals
HFY 21 Rehabilitation Care CohortHFY 21HFY 20

HFY 19


  • Encompass Health Rehabilitation of Braintree

  • Encompass Health Rehabilitation Hospital of New England

  • Encompass Health Rehabilitation of Western Massachusetts

  • Fairlawn Rehabilitation Hospital, an affiliate of Encompass Health



  • Spaulding Rehabilitation
    Hospital Boston

  • Spaulding Rehabilitation
    Hospital of Cape Cod

  • Whittier Rehabilitation
    Hospital Bradford

  • Whittier Rehabilitation
    Hospital Westborough
  • Vibra Hospital of Southern Massachusetts



Specialty Care Hospitals
HFY 21 Specialty Care CohortHFY 21HFY 20

HFY 19


  • AdCare Hospital of Worcester

  • Franciscan Hospital for Children

  • Hebrew Rehabilitation Hospital



Department of Mental Health (DMH) Hospitals
HFY21 Department of Mental Health (DMH) CohortHFY21HFY20



  • Cape Cod & Islands Community
    Mental Health Center

  • Corrigan Mental Health Center

  • Solomon Carter Fuller Mental Health Center

  • Taunton State Hospital

  • Worcester State Hospital



Department of Public Health (DPH) Hospitals
HFY 21 Department of Public Health (DPH) CohortHFY 21HFY 20

HFY 19


  • Lemuel Shattuck Hospital

  • Pappas Rehabilitation Hospital for Children

  • Tewksbury Hospital

  • Western Massachusetts Hospital



Massachusetts Hospitals Compendiums
 HFY 21HFY 20

HFY 19


  Hospital Compendiums
  (includes acute hospitals and non-acute cohorts)