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The Center for Health Information and Analysis (Center) Nursing Facility Quarterly User Fee 

Assessment Form is used to calculate your facility's user fee assessment in accordance with 

regulation 114.5 CMR 12.04(1) & (2). All Class I, II, III and IV Massachusetts Nursing Facilities 

that are licensed by the Department of Public Health under Chapter 111 Section 71 of the 

Massachusetts General Laws, including nursing facilities, transitional care units, etc., are 

required to file.  For any questions, please call the Center’s Help Desk at 1-617-988-3297. 

  

Due Dates 

 Assessment period Payment and Form Due Date 

July 1 – September 30 November 1 

October 1– December 31 February 1 

January 1 – March 31 May 1 

April 1 – June 30 August 1 

   

The Nursing Facility Quarterly User Fee Assessment Form can be accessed on DHCFP-INET at 

https://dhcfpinet.hcf.state.ma.us/inetn/ , the Center’s web-based reporting tool. Prior to filing the 

form electronically, you must complete two verification forms to log-in to INET: the non-

confidential data security and nursing facility user agreements.  

 

You can access these forms at http://www.mass.gov/chia/inet/ and clicking on “INET Questions 

and Answers”. These forms must be submitted at least ten days before the due date in order to 

process the application. Completed forms can be scanned and emailed to 

patty.mccusker@state.ma.us or faxed to 617-727-7662 with a cover sheet to the attention of 

Patricia McCusker. Following receipt of your electronic documents you will receive an email to 

confirm receipt of scanned documents. If you cannot submit the forms via email or fax, you can 

mail paper copies to: 

Center for Health Information and Analysis 

Two Boylston Street 

Boston, MA, 02116 

Attn: Patricia McCusker. 

 

I.   Total Nursing Patient Days for the Quarter Ending ___________ 

Total Qtr NH Patient Days: Patient Day. A day of care provided to an individual patient by 

a Facility. A Patient Day includes the date of admission and the date of discharge if both 

occur on the same day. All Reserved Vacant Bed Days held, except for the period of 

September 1, 2003 – June 30, 2004, should be included. A Patient Day does not include the 

date of discharge or days of service to Residential Care residents. Effective 2/1/05, PACE 

and MassHealth SCO days are considered Massachusetts Medicaid days.  Hospice days 

should be reported based on the patient day definition in regulation 114.5 CMR 12.02. A 

Patient Day includes any day that has not yet been reimbursed by the insurer. The days 

reported on the Quarterly Assessment form should agree with the days reported on the HCF-

1 cost report for that period. 

 

Enter the patient days into the proper patient day classification.  Column 7 is the sum on 

columns 1 – 5 only.  Do not include Medicare days in the total. 

 

https://dhcfpinet.hcf.state.ma.us/inetn/
http://www.mass.gov/chia/inet/
mailto:patty.mccusker@state.ma.us
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II. Calculation of the Nursing Facility User Fee Assessment: Effective July 1, 2010 

 

Facility 

Class 
Criteria 

User Fee 

Effective 

7/1/10 

Class I All facilities that do not qualify for classes 2 – 4. $18.41 

Class II 
Non-profit continuing care retirement communities and residential care 

facilities. 
$1.84 

Class 

III 

Non-profit nursing facilities that participate in the Medicaid program 

and that provided more than 66,000 annual Medicaid bed days in 

FY2005. 

$1.84 

Class 

IV 

Facilities that:  

(1) have 100 or fewer licensed beds; and  

(2) were established and licensed in Massachusetts prior to the 

enactment of the Health Insurance for the Aged Act, Pub. L. 89-97, 

Title I, 79 Stat. 290, and the Medicaid Act, Pub. L. 89-97, Title I, 

§121(a), 79 Stat. 343, on July 30, 1965; and  

(3) are not participating in either of the Medicare or Medicaid 

programs.  

In addition, Class IV includes homes located in Essex, Middlesex, and 

Suffolk counties that meet criteria (1) and (2) above but that do 

participate in the Medicaid program.  

$0.00 

 

Total Qtr Non-Medicare Days (col. 7): Using the grid above, please enter the number of 

Non-Medicare Days reported in column 7 of the table in Section I onto the designated line in 

Section II according to your facility’s class.  

 

NH User Fee: Please enter the product of the reported "Total Qtr Non-Medicare Days" 

multiplied by the "User Fee Rate" on the designated "NH User Fee" line.    

 

III. Comments:  Please enter any additional pertinent information that you would like the 

Center to be aware of, such as changes in beds, significant changes in days, prior period 

adjustments for the reclassification of days by payer type made in the current reporting 

quarter, etc. You may be prompted to explain why your facility’s reported days are less than 

anticipated. Use this section to explain the variance. Attach additional comment pages to this 

form if necessary. Please enter the facility name, vendor payment number and quarter ending 

date on the top of each additional comment page attached to this form.   

 

Owner, Partner, Officer or Administrator Information: Please check all of the information 

carefully prior to signing this form. Once you are satisfied that the information reported on the 

form is accurate to the best of your knowledge, sign your name, enter the date, enter your name 

and title on the designated lines.  


